The long-overdue Museum of Comedy will open its doors at the end of April and will no doubt become a tourist hotspot.
Curated by Leicester Square Theatre Director, Martin Witts whose career spans over three decades in the comedy industry, you can expect to see a collection of over six hundred artefacts. Some of the gems (mostly from Witts' own private collection) include Tommy Cooper's handmade magic props, The Two Ronnies' glasses, Charlie Chaplin's cane and Steptoe and Son's stuffed bear. not to mention pews from a number of religious comedies including The Vicar of Dibley, Father Ted and Rev.
Despite having permanent exhibitions covering particular aspects or personalities within the comedy world, this is the first time that the UK will have such an expansive collection of Comedy ephemera housed under one roof. That roof being a purpose built space in the under crypt of St George's Church Bloomsbury.
The Museum's remit will be to illustrate the history of British comedy from Court Jester to the popular Stand Up Comedians of today. This new location of laughter is a must for all comedy fans.
The Museum of Comedy The Undercroft, St Georges Church, Bloomsbury Way, London, WC1A 2SR 020 7534 1744 www.museumofcomedy.com